Home   |   About   |   Contact   |   Links   |   GBV.com   |   GBV Facebook
Discography:  |  Songs  |  Versions  |  Gigs  |  Advanced Search

Mustard Man & Mother Monkey

Guided By Voices

This is a list of songs that were to appear on this proposed/aborted/unreleased album. This is not an actual release.
Released: 1995
Format: Proposed/Aborted Album
Catalog #:
Discs: 2
# Tracks: 25
Tracklisting Handwritten By Bob
From Jim Greer: "early version running order/lyrics for Powerr Of Suck after it was already not Power Of Suck but before we'd started recording - this was during the rehearsal stage in Kim's basement."

Larger Images:

Tracklisting and Lyrics - Page 1
Lyrics - Page 2

So, this was before they recorded with Albini and at Easley, probably Feb 1995. I believe late January, early February was when they were rehearsing in Kim Deal's basement in preparation for the upcoming recording sessions.

The tracklisting and lyrics were handwritten by Bob. Jim had a photocopy of it and the top right where it lists the possible titles was cut off on his copy as well as on the image. The possible titles for this tracklisting are listed as "Mustard Man & Mother Monkey", then one or two that are cut off, "A Special Astrology For The Warlock's Tour", "The Power Of Suck", and "The Flying Party". I used the one listed for as the title for this to distinguish it from the other Power Of Suck and Flying Party tracklistings even though technically it doesn't have one title.

The interesting thing about this version is the appearance of 3 songs that ended up on the 1996/1997 Tonics And Twisted Chasers release: "Is She Ever?" (snippet), "Drag Me Down" (snippet - presumably the same song as "The Stir-Crazy Pornographer", which contains "drag me down"as a lyric), and "Universal Nurse Finger" - the sped up piano & vocal track. Also, this tracklisting has "Not Good For The Mechanism", which sounds like a slowed down guitar track that had lyrics sung over it. So, slow and fast studio trickery included.
Mustard Man & Mother Monkey 1st LP
1.   Pantherz
2.   Imperial Racehorsing [Different Song]
3.   Color Of My Blade
4.   Is She Ever? [Snippet]
5.   Redmen And Their Wives
6.   Sheetkickers
7.   Beekeeper Seeks Ruth
1.   Drag Days
2.   Cocksoldiers And Their Postwar Stubble
3.   The Winter Cows
4.   Bug House
5.   Key Losers
6.   Big Boring Wedding
Mustard Man & Mother Monkey 2nd LP
1.   Pink Drink
2.   Pluto The Skate [Demo]
3.   Are You Faster?
4.   He's The Uncle
5.   Drag Me Down [Snippet]
6.   Universal Nurse Finger
7.   I Am Decided
1.   Not Good For The Mechanism
2.   The Official Ironmen Rally Song
3.   Why Did You Land?
4.   I Saw The Jackrabbit
5.   Don't Stop Now