Home   |   About   |   Contact   |   Links   |   GBV.com   |   GBV Facebook
Discography:  |  Songs  |  Versions  |  Gigs  |  Advanced Search

Empty Horses

Tobin Sprout

Released: 09/18/2020
Format: LP
Label: Fire Records
Catalog #: FIRELP594
Country: United Kingdom
Discs: 1
# Tracks: 10
Front Cover
Pressing Details
Vinyl Color # Pressed
Original Release Notes: Artist, illustrator, writer and lo-fi innovator, Tobin Sprout was the super-productive partner of Robert Pollard in the legendary Guided By Voices. The gifted songwriter returns with a pensive, expansive part autobiographical new album 'Empty Horses'. Here he's part Townes Van Zandt, part John Prine, part Robbie Robertson at his retrospective best.

The album is a meticulously observed study of America and Americana (not the music, but the state of mind). An alternative American Songbook, if you will, a collection of laments to simpler times and the struggle for what's right, peppered with an examination of faith and the search for a sense of justice. Close up and personal, 'Empty Horses' is a poignant carefully etched experience, a rolling journey in modern times, nodding back to tradition, a personal snapshot filled with honesty.

'Empty Horses' is released on vinyl LP and also a deluxe bookback CD, beautifully packed with 24 pages of paintings and lyrics by Tobin Sprout, a true collectors piece for fans of Tobin's music and art.

Hand Numbered Prints: There are a LTD run of 12" x 12" hand numbered prints that can be paired with the LP or CD, these are limited to 100.

"The perfect aural encapsulation of melancholy: in turns somnambulant, romantic and all-consuming" Rolling Stone

"Raw, honest and often revelatory" Consequence Of Sound
Empty Horses
Side A
1.   Wings Prelude 1:26
2.   The Return 1:27
3.   Breaking Down 4:19
4.   On Golden Rivers 4:56
5.   The Man I Used To Know 2:19
Side B
1.   Every Sweet Soul 2:45
2.   Empty Horses 1:37
3.   Antietam 3:19
4.   All In My Sleep 6:20
5.   No Shame 1:58
Total Length: 30:26
Other Formats
Label - Catalog [Format] (Country) # Tracks
Fire Records - FIRECD594 [CD] (United Kingdom) 10

Album Credits
Role Name
Band Member Gary Vermillion
Band Member Steve Vermillion
Band Member Tobin Sprout
Band Member Tommy Schichtel
Role Name
Mastering Anthony Gravino
Role Name
Publisher I'm A Cowboy Songs
Songwriter 2020
Songwriter Tobin Sprout
Role Name
Additional Album Text Dedicated To Bill Pickrel (The Good Flying Bird)
Additional Album Text FireRecords.Com
Additional Album Text Tobinsprout.Net
Thanks Amy Winslow
Thanks Brian Felhandler
Thanks Cory Stenzel
Thanks David Newgarden
Thanks James Nicholls
Thanks Laura Sprout
Thanks Martha Sprout
Thanks Turner Sprout